September 16, 2005

  • How important is timing?


    I have been pondering the issue of “timing” a lot, recently. Specifically, what constitutes “right” and “wrong” timing, in our lives, and how important it is that we do things “when we’re ready,” as opposed to just “whenever they show up.”


    Or do these two opposites merely teach us different things?


    Or do they merely show us what our “learning style” looks like?


    When I look back on my own life, I recognize that I have often used the words “I want to do that, but not until I feel ready,” to pass over a tendency to be– for lack of a better term– “loyal to a fault.” My orientation tends to be that I must give (my interpretation of) “every possible chance” to existing situations before I feel “ready” make a change. In part, I also know that I have a fairly deep need to feel sure about “making the right choice.”


    Take this move I am about to make– I first entertained the idea of moving to the Seattle area in the late 80′s. Whereas some part of me realized that I “wanted” to go, a much larger part of me resisted, on a feeling that I had to have my “house in order” before I went. It was extremely important to me that I didn’t just “take old stuff with me” to a new location. It was extremely important to me to feel certain that I wasn’t just “running away from” something I didn’t want, but “running towards” something I did want. Which is what we often do, as human beings.


    I was married, for 13 years, and that was a similar tale. The union pretty much “ended” after 6-7 years, but on some level I didn’t feel “ready,” or like it had been “given enough chances,” till I felt very certain that every possible stone had been turned over, examined and contemplated. Or that my desire to leave wasn’t just a lack of stick-to-it-iveness, a lack of “serious” commitment.


    I was involved in a business, for 15 years. For all practical purposes, it should have been “over and out” at its 7th year, then again when my ex and I split, three years later, then again in its 13th year. But somehow I felt driven by some need to give it “every possible chance” to turn around, even long after the obvious writing was on the wall.


    When I look around me, I see so many people use the exact opposite strategy. The moment something seems less than optimal, they are off to do something else. Often with the words “deserve to have what I want!” It often made me wonder if I– on some level– felt less deserving than others. For a long time, I envied them, thinking their lives must be so much easier, so much simpler. But are they really?


    Then I wonder whether this tendency to be steadfast and loyal (or is it really “stubborn,” and I am not looking at it objectively?) is truly mine, or just a remnant of family-of-origin lessons I have simply followed because they were “familiar.” I can vaguely hear my father’s words “You MADE that bed, now you LIE in it!” whenever I wanted to “change directions” on some choice I had made. And although he never voiced it directly, I was an empathic child, and could sense his obvious disdain for people who changed their mind a lot, because “they couldn’t be relied on” and were “weak-minded,” according to his value set. But is that my value set, too?


    What I do know about myself, is that I tend to “do poorly” when rushed, and when I feel unprepared. I am not the person you want in charge, when a bunch of swiftly changing conditions require a series of snap decisions. However, I am really good to have around when the situation calls for something to be kept up with, in a routine way, in the long haul.


    But I still wonder about timing, though. Do we create the timing that works for us? “Works,” meaning that we do things on exactly the schedule that’s needed, in order for us to learn the lifelessons that go with the situations in which we’re involved. Had my ex and I parted after seven years, instead of 13, would I have learned what the Universe “needed me to learn?”


    I suppose one of the lessons I have learned is that there is little value or “nobility” in letting yourself get hurt, all in the name of “being committed” to a cause, a job, a relationship, a person.


    Then I wonder about the “events” along the way, the “opportunities” that show up on our journey– and seem perfect “on paper,” but we let them pass, because we are loyal to our previous obligations. I had such an opportunity with my business– an “easy out,” at a time when things were not going so well. But I just didn’t “feel ready.” And (like many people in “rocky” relationships, I suspect) there was a “someone” who came along during the low points of that marriage and invited me to examine the possibility of something better, but the timing just didn’t feel right, although the person definitely felt right.


    Which leads to the final question: “Am I missing out, because I wait till the time feels right, or am I playing it precisely right, by not jumping at every promising impulse that comes my way?”


     

Comments (18)

  • I have learnt from experience that, if it is the right time, nothing I do will stop it happening (whatever it is) but, if it is the wrong time, nothing I do will make it happen.
    There have been many instances when I have been stopped (either by intuition or actual events) from doing something I wanted to do only to discover later that there was a reason I was stopped.
    I don’t think you (or I) are missing anything we aren’t meant to miss. Everything is meant.

  • I would agree. And you wouldn’t really know if that was right or wrong, until the some time have passed by. “Regret comes at the last moment” is one of the sayings back here. ^_^

  • To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven    Ecc 3:1

    xoxoxo

  • You always seem to speak some part of my heart. I always thought it was my fear of jumping out of something familiar, no matter how bad, rather than “taking a chance”. I’ve known many who have jumped & taken that shot & they’re seemingly happy. But they’re not me.
    Much like you , I am not comfortable being out on the spot, or thrown into a new situation. It has stopped me from changing jobs many times. I know I can function extremely well doing just about anything, so long as I am comfortable, or familiar with the surroundings and procedures. I’ve always thought of that as a failing in me, especially given my chosen profession – in Engineering Technology, specifically computer related. That’s a very fast field. I stayed in my job, unhappy, for years …trying to make the best of things, rather than jumping ship. Until they told me to leave. I’ve stayed in my marriage rather much the same way.

    I blogged briefly a few days ago about this, saying I thought I lived life the way my mom taught me and her mom before her. You make the best of what you’ve got. My mom went through some pretty rough patches, and yet now my parents are quite happy together. Somehow I just don’t think I’m enough like her to stick it out that long though. And yet I am here

    I seriously think if I had enough money to not worry, I would jump at impulses. At least now and then. I’ve never had enough money not to worry, and what little I have now is tied to my marriage. That may sound wrong, but I think in this world, you must have some money to have any real freedom from needing to have money.

    Oh gawd, look, I’ve blogged on your blawg! Sorry!   I don’t always respond here, but you always get me thinking. Thank you for that

  • Ack! I need to read myself more carefully before I hit submit- my fingers betray me. PUT on the spot, not out on the spot. Honestly

  • Hi Peter!  Just stopping by super quick while I had this chance.  I can totally relate to what you’re saying. 

    Being an HSP for me is SO overwhelming beyonds words just to exist most of the time.  I’ve even gotten to the point now where I try to suppress it as much as possible, which is probably something I’m not suppose to be doing, but when I have like a 1000 different thoughts and questions going around in my head at one time, I have to do something.  I just about can’t survive if I don’t now.  I don’t like being an HSP at all!  It’s too overwhelming to me.

    I’m always asking myself things you mentioned, too, and I’m always thinking…”What if I had only done this differently, etc.”  “Did I make the right choice, etc.?”  Things like that. 

    Anyways, sorry for rambling.  I hope you have a great rest of the weekend!  ((((Hugs)))))

  • I would say that things are not fully over until you are finally ready to let go. For instance, your marriage may only have been 70% over at 7 or 8 years, but not 100% for another 5 years; likewise with the business. It’s better to make a committment to things working out, and staying for the long haul, I feel, than to jump ship every time there’s a ruffle in the water. If you walked away before you were fully satisfied that every avenue had been explored, every stone over turned, everything possible had been tried, you wouldn’t feel that you had given these important aspects a fair chance – marriage and business. And then, who knows, perhaps you’d be wracked with guilt, rather than with regret tinged with knowing you did everything possible and more to save your marriage and this business…

    It sounds like what you’d prefer, though, is to have the foresight to know that no matter how much effort you put into a situation, it isn’t going to ultimately work, and to leave it long before you are drained by it…

    Sending wishes for precisely that ability, to fathom relationships, business situations, writerly projects, whatever you most care about, for their longterm viability, and the ability to let go if there really is no future, if it’s really not going to ultimately work out happily.

    xo

  • You cannot be off the path, if you ARE the path.  So I say:
    Be the path, but don’t allow others to walk all over you.

    ————–

    What of intuition?  And what of other factors that you have no control over, such as anothers feelings?

    It’s like having children; you’ll never have enough money, time or wisdom to be the perfect parent. 
    Or finding the perfect master … when the student is ready, the master appears.

  • ryc: see why I can’t get into these quizzes too much?  I highly doubt you are deluding yourself about loving love-making lol. 

  • There has to be balance in change, just like everything else in life.

  • I’ve used the expression “when I’m ready”  so many times, cuz it’s easier.  That is a good question you put at the end of your post.

  • You have to do what’s right for you. If you jump right in and don’t feel ready, it isn’t going to feel right no matter what. I think a lot about timing is emotion and luck. Some things I’ve jumped upon and other things I’ve waited to do, and both have had equally mixed outcomes. So it just depends on the individual and the situation on what would be right at that particular moment.

  • I’m so with you on not wanting to be rushed–have a tendency to get my guts all twisted, get bent out of shape, a wired fireball. Peace, serenity, focus-maintaining–what I strive for. Do you have a special process in maintaining your sanity?! Are you enjoying your weekend so far?!

  • No easy answer to your question.  That’s because important decisions are almost never easy.  I’ve dithered too long, I’ve married in haste (and repented at leisure), and the only thing I do know is that once you make a decision, proceed with a conviction that it was the right one.  No, that’s not even right.  But at least it’s good advice some of the time.

    If that makes no sense, it’s because I’m tired.  Sorry ’bout that.

  • The real question is do you have regrets for not doing things at the time you said “I’ll wait”…. or do you gain something more from the patience and tenacity……’til the next

  • I echo light_and_fluffy and brendaclews’ words.

  • Timing is such a pertinent issue in my life right now. I can always count on you to have some great insights.

  • The moment I have to try and convince myself that a certain move is right at a given time, it is not. The moment I know it is right, that profound feeling, deep down inside, is when I act. I think you were wise not to rush into new things, just because the opportunity presented itself. You followed your feeling, and Lord knows what doing so has saved you from.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *