August 24, 2008

  • The Exhausting Inquisition

    In my current state of low energy, I have been contemplating “things that sap energy.” Not as they relate to this current moment, mind you, but as they relate to life, on the whole.

    Temperament (such as “being an introvert”) may be innate, but I believe you can find yourself in places where your innate temperament gets exaggerated, and in places where you notice it less.

    What I have come to understand about myself is that my energy gets sapped by people who have a “questioning” and “inquisition-like” communication style.

    When I was a kid, I grew up in an environment where you’d damn better know what you were talking about, before you opened your mouth. And when you did open your mouth, you’d damn better be prepared to defend your point of view. My parents’ natural “communication style” seemed to be “inquisition.”

    “Mom, I’m thirsty, can I get a glass of milk?”

    “Why are you thirsty? Are you sure you’re thirsty? Why do you want milk? Why not grape juice? Do you like milk better than grape juice? Why not just get a glass of water? Are you sure you’ll have appetite for dinner, if you drink milk now? You’d better have a really good reason for wanting this, right before dinner!”

    I recognize that in my adult life, I have tended to surround myself with “debaters,” in many different situations, from love relationships to friendships to business partnerships.

    I am sure there are people who really like, and even thrive, on “debate” as a communication style. In fact, I know there are. I’ve met more than a few couples who say the favorite part of their relationships (and what keeps their relationships strong) is a kind of constant “verbal sparring.” Not in an abusive way, just in a sort of “perpetual verbal competition” sort of way, like they define their boundaries through an ongoing push-pull process, a never-ending active process of establishing “where you stand” vs. “where I stand,” re-tested over and over and over again. Perhaps I am interpreting it wrong, but it ultimately ends up feeling like we’re engaged in a “soft” verbal wrestling match to establish who’s “superior” and “inferior.”

    Personally, I find it exhausting. As I said, everyone is different. But for me, feeling like I have to be “prepared” (like carrying around a fat wad of internal “legal briefs” with “facts” about the current conversation) to “defend and justify” every word that exits my mouth– especially in close relationships– makes me want to do only one thing… withdraw and preserve energy.

    Now, I’m not trying to say that I shy away from “debate” or “discussion” of the various aspects of life. It’s great to discuss “the meaning of life,” and to explore disparate points of view. But I experience that as very different from– say– feeling like I have to be prepared to “explain myself” because I blew my nose on a paper towel, rather than a Kleenex. In fact, I find that when I’m aware of the imminent likelihood that the first response to some action I’m about to take will be “a demanding question” I’ll mostly choose to not even take that action.

    I also know that I’m probably in the minority, and that my approach is related to this “high sensitivity” thing– HSPs, by nature, tend to be oriented towards “cooperation” and “commonality” rather than towards “competition” and “establishing territory.” And HSPs– while certainly capable of “debating” and “defending themselves”– easily get worn out by the process.

    So… long and the short of it, I find people who seem compelled to constantly “question” everything in the world– from the color of your socks, to who’ll be the next President– exhausting to be around. Nothing wrong with that approach. I’m just saying I don’t want to have to “be on my toes” to “defend my words” every time I open my mouth, or take some action.

    Now….

    Why hasn’t the caffeine kicked in, yet?

Comments (8)

  • The kind of people you mentioned really exhaust me as well. I’m not sure if it’s for the same reason, though. I enjoy debating sometimes, but . . . well . . . it’s once in a blue moon, it seems. I like more the idea of exchanging ideas and listening to what someone has to say, then sharing and growing–not to try and force others to believe as I do or to support my point. I think the best friends I’ve had in my life are those who can say, “That is really cool what you believe. I believe this . . .” and then talk about both.

  • YES! It can be SO exhausting when people feel the constant need to question everything… if only for the fact that watching them exhaust themselves is also depleting. That, and I’ve been in their shoes.

    I also find myself highly stressed around those who get very “passionate” during debate as if at any second a fight might break out.

    Recently my friends and I were having a discussion about a movie, when my friend, who was failing to make his point… had to make it personal and bring up something that was unrelated and personal in MY life. His girlfriend and I pulled back on the reins reminding him that we are talking about a “MOVIE” not anyone’s personal life.

    Not only would I be having to discuss my opinion in a movie (which Im free to have) but if it had gone the way he wanted it to, I would have to be defending redundant and old stuff from my past for sake of so called “argument”.

    I consider myself opinionated, I have particular opinions on things… and I like discussing them. But not in some arena where we have to prove “something” to others… when my personal worth or integrity is not on trial or for others to judge to their liking.

  • Just your description of your mother’s questions exhausted me! I use to consider myself a debater but never to that extent. I don’t seek out such discussions or people any longer. The less conflict the better. Marvelous post as always.

  • oh lordy im so glad someone else feels the same way i do about endless questions. i like clarity and will ask questions until i feel like i understand (mostly this has to do with concepts i am trying to learn). i have a friend who i truly love, but she has that intense kind of inquiry you speak of. i have had to learn to leave her alone when my energy is really low or else she and i will inevitably misunderstand each other and end up in a snit.
    blech~
    ds

  • Hi Peter, just stopping by while I could.   Oooooh….I know what you mean!  I can’t stand constantly debating either!  Whenever one is highly sensitive, it certainly does drain the energy.  Glad I’m not the only one who feels this way. 

    Hope you have a great week!

    Love & Hugs!

  • I prefer a more quiet way of relating and I am fairly easy going.  I will speak up if I feel strongly about something but I don’t appreciate being grilled or put on the defensive and try to stay away from those kinds of situations.

  • Ohhhhhhhhh…I so understand, but then I’ve always resisted such control tactics.  And sometimes I just want to be…like sitting on my patio watching and listening to the rain, with coffee in hand and candles lit.  Just because…

    My sons are very much questioning everything.  I’ve just gotten to the point where I tell them something they start to question and I end it with…”I love you.”  They roll their eyes and walk away.   Sorry, but I don’t have the energy right now…lolol 

  • I enjoy a good debate but not the constant questioning about which you speak.  My kids would have thought I’d lost it if I’d have done that to them.  About the only questions I asked were:  Who’d driving?  Will there be parents there?

    Just as I felt when I first began to read your blogs, I still feel as though I could be in your company for a day and even silence would be fulfilling.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *