August 27, 2008

  • Do we “choose” who and what we are?

    I believe we all have the capacity to create our own reality.

    Whether you believe I am full of shyghte, or you subscribe to the same ideas as I, or you believe I am right but your way looks “different,” I have seen a lot of evidence that our intent (overt or covert) drives our lives. When we fully “intend” to bring precisely what we want into our lives… it somehow seems to happen. Likewise, when we fully believe we are “helpless” and that nothing will turn out for us… then it typically happens that nothing turns out.

    In a way, we do “choose” Who We Are, just as we tend to attract who or what we believe we are. Connecting the dots is not always easy, however. But… we nearly always can. When you look in the mirror every morning and declare (even if subconsciously) “I hate the way I look,” there’s a really good chance you’ll suddenly find yourself five years into a relationship with someone who– oh, surprise– is frequently critical of your appearance. Similarly, if we convince ourselves that we “can never have a fulfilling job,” it will most likely be true.

    Thoughts become things.

    Belief is a powerful thing. We tend to move towards our beliefs, no matter whether we’re consciously “trying,” or not. The deeper implication is that manifesting what we want– love, money, success, inner peace, friendships, relationships, contentment– is more often about examining thoughts, patterns and habits, than it is about sitting down and “making a list” of what we want. One of the primary reasons “affirmations” seldom work is that it doesn’t matter whether we say “I’m going to sign three new clients today!” 45 times if we don’t actually believe in it.

    It’s always interesting to watch the “outward” signs of belief and words not matching. An easy place to witness it is to watch politicians on TV. Look for someone who’s making an “agreeing statement” while at the same time shaking their head side to side, in “disagreement.” It’s a sure “tell” they aren’t actually “behind” the statement they are making… they may think they are, but their “higher self” (for lack of a better phrase) doesn’t agree.

    So how did I “get” here, anyway?

    Well, this year– for me– has been largely about embracing the concept of truly being “a responsible adult.” I won’t go into great depth about what that means to me– I’ve written about it, in the past. Point, though, is that I have also been trying to persuade myself that I “like” being a responsible adult, because it makes me “better off in life,” and more capable of dealing with things and handling life’s disasters, when they come up. But the bottom line– as I “feel it in my bones”– is that I don’t like being a “responsible adult.” I do not like the person I become when I “take life seriously.” I don’t like the way prioritizing things like “work” and “paying bills” and “getting things done on time” turns me into someone who just doesn’t have time/bandwidth for the people and things that really matter to me.

    You may be thinking “boo-hoo-hoo, welcome to the real world.” Indeed, maybe that is how 95% of the world experiences life. However, I’m idealistic/narcissistic enough to believe that I don’t have to be part of that 95%, I can be part of the 5%. Or maybe it’s 1%. And I get very stubborn about it.

    I choose not to be part of the 95%.

    Which brings me face-to-face with one of the “constants” of my life: I simply don’t care what “everyone else” thinks, and I don’t care whether “conventional wisdom” believes that I am “delusional.” And I suppose the bit of “put THAT in your pipe and smoke it” information I take away from these ramblings is an explanation for why– beyond a very superficial level– I eventually get along with so few people.

    Back to the drawing board….

Comments (10)

  • I think we are all very complex, much more complex that any of us can fathom, and that it helps to operate on the assumption that we can make decisions and take actions that make a difference in ourselves and others.

  • i think as long as we are in some way cultivating and devoting a piece of ourselves via time and energy to what makes us feel good on the deep insides (ie xanga, etc) even though we have to deal with “real life” that we are still maintaining our vision.  and holding that vision, nurturing it is important, and slowly the beauty of it starts to creep into the “real world” life.  it seems to be an integrative process, marrying our dreams with what we were born into.  it’s happening though, and i notice you are a part of it, with your reflections and all.  another good, introspective post that is definintely doing its job, expanding and enlightening, reaffirming what needs to be reaffirmed for this reader.

    keep up the good work Peter.

    -janice

  • Yes, we are what we think we are, and I am what you think I am.

    But, what makes us like this to start with?

    Me, I hate the fact that I poorly take care of everything, the opposite of what you attract. I just dont get most things done, then suffer because of it.

    When I do get a (hair up my ass | round tuit | divine inspiration) and actually _do_ something I feel great, then slip into the apathetic laziness that breeds caring about what I am not (doing).

    But, the fact you are talking about it, makes all the difference. Introspection is the tool of the truly wise man, to know what you dont know.

    great post.
    marc

  • I think you can be responsible and have fun. You can be an adult and also be “child like” with enthusiasm, curiousity, and playfulness… while avoiding the ever so “childish” way of being egocentric or cruel.

    I think a lot of choosing does come along in our path regardless of what spurs us on or stops us in our tracks. I can CHOOSE to be kind… or I can CHOOSE to be a b!tch.

    Although some people have better resources for which to rely. Superficial or temporary things can affect our choices like illness or severe abuse. Making the so called “choice” a lot harder to do. Exhausted or hysterical emotions make the “logical” choice even harder.

    I think life is a process for the most part… if I have issues with my appearence, yet continually make choices to be a part of life and not let my looks decide everything for me… then I think my “actions” can help steer “new” thoughts about what is of value or worth.

    I get what you say about “thinking” vs. “beliveing” but I also know that to DO something regardless of what negative rituals are set in our mind… can stir up beneficial or positive results.

  • I fail to believe that I must fret about my retirement and making “enough” money… The universe has provided for me this far… Of course, I work very hard – I just work very very hard at things I absolutely LOVE doing and the universe keeps feeding me and allows me to live in a nice house. Sometimes I run out of money or do stupid things like anyone else, but so far, my attitude has been functional for me.

  • If you put it in your pipe, I’ll smoke it with you. 

  • The truth is always in the eye of the beholder. My sister used to always say that there are three sides to a story: person A’s side, person B’s side, and what really happened.

  • rofl once again, it’s as if we share a brain

    i made a few notes on facebook today similar to this topic, if you care to read.

    science has finally proven what you’ve just said

    myself i do sometimes find myself putting my nose to the grindstone and embracing that “well that’s LIFE” attitude you mentioned that so many have, most usually, i’m also in that minority you speak of, those who simply refuse to co operate with what has become the “norm”.

    funnily enough (or rather, quite reasonably) life has conspired to bring me whatever i want when I want or need it….in some form or the other….and i even have “friends” that resent me for it, as in: “why should YOU get to play while the rest of us have to work?”
    to that I shrug my shoulders and say “quit, then.”

    or one of my faves “don’t hate the playa, hate the game” LOL!

    i too have very few who i connect with. they either have the same attitude or they at least are happy for me that i can make it work.

  • It is possible to be responsible and true to the inner you, but finding that balance is not an easy path.  Best of wishes for you in your search.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *