September 8, 2005

  • I feel sortof bored with myself, at the moment. Which is not a good thing, when it comes to writing– if I’m bored with me, I can’t even imagine how others would feel. I even started looking around for one of those “list thingies” that occasionally does the rounds of the blogosphere, thinking that I might be able to cheat by writing something fluffy about nothing.


    It feels like I am stuck in a kind of “in-between time.” the only thing going through my head is the same old “I’m packing,” “I’m moving,” “I’m trying to keep writing,” and only stays new for so long. I am also editing a resource directory, and that’s taking quite a bit of time. Maybe writing life is just imitating the rest of my life– at the moment, I am best when I stick to one-on-one connections.


    Then I realized something. The last time I felt this way was late last year. The disaster in SE Asia. And then I realized something else. My mind is numb. The endless parade of talking heads and images of human suffering has overwhelmed my bandwidth. Whereas disasters affect everyone out there, they seem to take their toll especially hard on empaths and sensitive types.


    I find myself sitting and staring out the window, several times a day– just wondering how the lives of hundreds of thousands of displaced people will play out. I find myself wondering if we’ll ever really know how many perished. Overseas newspapers are reporting that 25,000 body bags have been ordered for the affected area.


    This is definitely a time of transition. I feel a chapter of my life teetering on the edge of coming to a close, and I feel quite hopeful about the new chapter that will soon begin. I have been working so long, and so hard, on ending old business, on cutting old threads– and I have very recently grown aware of new beginnings starting to percolate. And of very old connections I recognize as always having been there, suddenly coming to life.


    Not only am I bored with myself, my writing has turned quite cryptic.


     

Comments (9)

  • Sometimes the cryptic writing is the best kind, though, P. And gads… were you inside my head when you were writing this out? This is such a strange place to reside, innit? One foot on land, one in the sea…

    Keep writing – you’re creating some marvelous wordstrings!

  • I can so exactly relate to what you said.  exactly

  • Transition times always feel kind of odd, like you’re totally out of it. Things can only get better from there on.

  • Yeah, I’ve cut way back on my TV news now. It was just too much.

  • The talkiing heads are everywhere, up here we are bombarded with the images and the ‘viewpoints’ …..I heard about the body bags being ordered….I mourn that something so horrific could happen in this Continent at this time……I wonder too what will happen to the people down there…..imagine if the money used for things in Iraq were diverted to New Orleans even for a week, what would happen….’til the next

  • change is in the air… like elecricity gathering in a storm

  • THANKS FOR STOPPING BY!  ALSO, I APPRECIATED THE LINKS THAT YOU POSTED FOR THE HURRICANE VICTIMS, I COPIED AND PASTED THOSE LINKS AND MAILED THEM OUT TO PEOPLE AT WORK. THE BOSSES AND EVERYONE USED THEM AND MANY PEOPLE HAVE CONTRIBUTED.  ESPECIALLY TO THE ANIMAL SHELTERS, BECAUSE OF YOUR COMMENTS. WE’VE ALSO DONE SPAGHETTI DINNER FUND RAISERS AND RAISED 5000 IN ONE LUNCHEON, PLUS MANY MANY OTHER DONATIONS.  ; )    

  • Cryptic? It’s not cryptic…

    Chee ^^;;;

  • Wonderfalls was such an wonderful show, though I understand why it was cancelled, too off for the average viewer.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *