June 29, 2008

  • Back from the world, once again…

    I guess it’s time to confess that I feel like I have somewhat been abandoning this blog, for the past year or so. It hasn’t really been anything very conscious… more a combination of “life getting in the way,” and a sense that a lot of my old friends from here are– in a similar fashion– not contributing the way they used to.

    It’s not really that I don’t want to be here, it’s more a lingering feeling of “been there, done that” arising, almost every time I sit down to write.

    I was traveling again, this month. I barely got back from the family visit in Spain before turning right around and heading out for a week to a retreat in northern California. In between, I had to make time to “make a living,” which is something I have been trying to give priority to, this year. Or, at least, it’s something I have been trying to “take seriously,” this year. Now that I am back, I once again have to give priority to “making a living.” It’s just one of those things, when you’re self-employed.

    One of the things I noticed at the retreat is the degree to which people– on a very broad scale– get trapped in a pattern of “complaining about life.” I recognize that pattern– as well as the fact that when I spent a lot more time writing on this site, it was usually because I was bellyaching about something, and trying to work my way through some “issue.” It also seems to hold true that my inclination to keep up with my blogs has declined, as I have moved more towards a phase of life where I feel like I am merely “living,” rather than at odds with my environment, and the greater circle of life.

    This morning– as I was waiting for the coffee to kick in– I ended up contemplating the “how” of writing, and the broader mechanics of how human beings relate to each other. And I recognized just how much writing is about “problems” and “problem solving.” And it really applies– if you think about it– to a HUGE range of writing, from the Bible, to paparazzi scandal news. It applies to how we relate. We connect over what shitty weather we’re having, and over the state of the economy, and hating the government, and Bob losing his job. And those who speak mostly to “beauty and good” quickly get labeled as “Pollyannas” and are told they’d just better be prepared for the other shoe to drop.

    What I find funny (and perhaps a little ironic) is that everyone seems to be in pursuit of the Holy Grail of happiness, yet “good news doesn’t sell.” We’re quick to forget someone’s good fortune, and quick to pounce on anyone’s MISfortune. We read about people’s trials and tribulations on the path to self-awareness, but hear little or nothing from the people who “got there.” Maybe they are too busy being happy to tell us about it… OR they are afraid they’ll have their hard-earned contentment “stolen” by those envious of their progress.

    And I’m not holding myself above reproach, here, by the way. After all– (in the words of Simon Cowell) “when I have to be completely honest” about it– when I am not writing here, much, it’s often because I don’t have anything to complain about. AND… on some secondary level… because I find that I “devalue” the importance of the positive… saying to myself “nobody’s going to want to hear about that,” if I’m not penning some kind of lament.

    Much has been written about how great poetry, song lyrics and literature is born out of the writer’s pain and suffering. And I have previously pondered the question of whether or not it is possible to “write well” when your life is in balance and harmony.

    Beats me.

    I do know that I love to write, yet struggle to get the words out, absent a “challenge” or “problem.”

    Where the hell IS everybody, anyway?

Comments (11)

  • I tend to go through phases…. when it comes to blogging. Sometimes, I am as you say, too busy experiencing life to care to write about it. But I cant say all writing is just a means to flex my moral issues or to complain… sometimes writing is just writing…. be it about the stars or social issues.

    It think it keeps you sharp and connected with your personal thoughts or the world at large. We have a voice… and sometimes we need to make a sound… and other times we just need to sit quietly.

  • *waving*… I’m out here. Haven’t got much of consequence to say these days, but I’m a perrenial lurker and occasional bloginator.

    Funny… I was just thinking about how the blogwrites that get the commentary and feedback/interaction are the ones that are laments and dissection of heartache, and the bellyaching. It is so true. I think it’s pandemic in blog culture. Sex and supplications, that’s what gets the action happening in the comments boxes.

    This is a great write and I, for one, do want to read the cool/exciting/good stuff folks are experiencing. It can be as epic and poetic and edifying as the bellyache/heart pain/soul search writes are (yes, those downcast pennings of woe edify the readership to a degree, as they can say, “geez, at least I’m not dealing with that right now…”).

    You find a plane of contentment, I’d love to read about it! You’re pondering a deeper self-awareness and realization, I love reading those, too!

  • I’m here nearly every day….

  • “good news doesn’t sell.” ~ I totally get that.  Have noticed that quite a lot lately.  And yet when I blogged about angry folks, tons of ppl comment.  Beats me, too.

  • I feel the same way!!! I’m barely present.

  • Complaining becomes a habit, in person as well as cyber.

  • Ironic, but for me it all happened in reverse.  When I was posting happy little message with flowery pictures and nice quotes, I had lots of comments.  When I started pissin’ and moanin’ I lost my following.  Now I use my blog like a scrapebook.  It’s really for me.  I save to cyberspace what I don’t have room on my computer to save.  The others can take it or leave it.  I appreciate the comments, but they’re not necessary.

    What are you doing when you’re “making a living”?

  • I don’t have a blog, but I really enjoy reading your posts. I appreciate the honesty of your writing. If you do decide to continue writing this blog, I hope you share the positivity in your life. It would be very inspiring!

  • Hi Peter!! (((Hugs))) Great to hear from you!  Thank you so much for your comment the other day!   Another excellent post you have here!! 

    Thanks again for stopping by!  Feel free to stop by again whenever you can and subscribe to my blog, too, if you want! Hope you have a Happy 4th!  Love & More Hugs!

  • P.S. Yay! About the previous comment, I found you where you are subscribed to my blog!!    Thanks bunches!  You’ll have to excuse me!  I’m turning 35 soon, so my memory is kind of off right now.  Plus, I’m half asleep!

  • Xanga is a lot quieter, isn’t it…

    If you’re not here, where are you?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *