August 17, 2008

  • Here I go, again…

    I don’t blog much, any more.

    It’s not that I don’t like writing anymore, it’s just that I’m off doing “other stuff,” most of the time. So I don’t really have the time to spend, with it.

    As many of you know, I work (well, maybe that’s an overstatement) quite a lot with HSPs (HSP = Highly Sensitive Person) because I happen to be one, myself. And because… well, I really like sensitive people. I am, once again, helping out with one of the “HSP Gatherings,” which is basically a five day retreat for HSPs… with workshops, activities, social time and just a chance to meet other members of “my tribe.”

    If you DO happen to be reading this page, and you DO happen to be an HSP… this retreat is taking place in Phoenicia, NY, on October 2-6, 2008. And it would certainly be cool to see some familiar faces, there! Over the years, I have probably met about 10 people from xangaland, at these events.

    I won’t put up a big sales pitch here– there’s current information you can look at on the New York HSP group’s web site.

    Or, if you want to see an agenda and registration info, and all that good stuff, you can find it on organizer Jacquelyn Strickland’s web site.

    So… go check it out, register, and then I’ll see you there… yes?

    Sometimes people do ask me why I “bother.” As in why I “bother” to write so much about my life as an HSP, why I “bother” to create web sites about high sensitivity, why I “bother” with hosting HSP groups and forums on the web, and why I “bother” with the general “awareness spreading” about the trait, as I do.

    It isn’t actually that anyone is arguing against me, as such– far from it– it’s usually about the “bothered” thing. It usually takes the form of “I can understand why you’d want to know and understand, but why not just be happy with that, tell anyone if they DO ask, but otherwise just get on with your life?

    I really do understand that perspective. I started puzzling it out, last year, and even started writing an article about what motivates me to do what I do… when I could be involved in some (better paying) gig, doing something else. Ultimately, I guess I’m just idealistic, and believe I’m doing something that “adds value,” in some capacity.

    I did end up finishing the article today:

    HSP Topics: So WHAT if you’re Sensitive? Why should it matter to you?

    Then I got to thinking– the article doesn’t really touch on the “personal” aspects of it all. It presents rational and logical reasons. I sat and pondered that, after clicking the “submit” button, and realized that I am– quite simply– a hopeless idealist. I come across things I feel “matter,” and then there’s very little turning me back. And when I find myself in those “moods,” I always worry about the delicate balance of “altruistic motives” intersecting with “imposing myself” on others.

    It’s popular “self-growth speak” to talk a lot about “The Ego” and its role in driving our lives. And I am looking at the possibility that anything I get “deeply into” is an ego-exercise. In this case (meaning my involvement in the global HSP “community”), I don’t really care whether I “get paid,” nor whether I am “recognized.”

    I know my own existence has had a lot of painful and confusing times, and that part of my life has been dominated by the idea that unless I could “offer something useful and be rewarded” (old parental crap) I just shouldn’t bother… however, I now find a feeling that if I can add something to the great clutter of information, and it helps someone… well, that works, for its own sake. I has nothing to do with ME, and how I “feel” it just has to do with taking “right action.”

Comments (11)

  • I am now at a place in my “sensitive” self that doesn’t worry about being useful to others.  I find being useful to myself brings out the best in me.  Enjoy your week.

  • You already know I’m an HSP (INFJ)… I’m also very idealist.  In fact, though I’ve been using “merridian” as my username prolifically (sp) for 9 yrs… I have had one other username “a_hopeless_utopian” lol.  That sums it up .  I’d love to come out to an HSP event someday… currently I’m out of vacation time (yet again… I always have a gajillion ideas on how to spend it).  If they ever have a weekend one… perhaps I can make it out (pending the good ole’ budget of course).

  • I’m glad you “bother” too many people have told me my sensitivity is just “crazy woman shit.” When I first heard about HSP it made an awful lot of sense, reading about other people’s experiences helps me. Soooo, thank you.

  • Huh.

    I just bought a sackful of books at a thrift store…and one was all about being an HSP…. now I know who to talk to about it.

    I like your posts whenEVER you post them, and I like the way I continue to think about what you’ve said after I’ve gone away…so don’t YOU go away. Please.

  • well, im glad you write about it. if you didn’t, i never would have been able to put a name to something i have been given a bad time about for the past 50+ years. spread the word, brother, spread the word.
    it’s nice to see you back here now and then, too. thanks for the sub.
    ~ds

  • I think it’s nice that you can do something and not expect to be rewarded. There are a lot of people who could benefit from that example… It is refreshing.

  • Didn’t know that being highly sensitive was a condition?

    Took the test on the site you linked and scored an “18″. lol

    But then I am a psychic so I am not surprised at the score. Even the dead bother me. laff

    Namaste! Have a great week and good luck with the retreat.

  • I think it is neat that you write about and are envolved with HSP.  I am sure you have helped a lot of other people.  Ryc: It was so hot last week. I am not a person who enjoys really hot weather unless I can just take off and go camping. I had to be in town to work, so I spent all the time I could on the river and was grateful I live where there is lots of water. Judi

  • I took the test on the page you linked, and I scored 25.  I already knew I was highly sensitive, so I wasn’t shocked by the high score.  It’s wonderful that you do what you do and help so many people.  I hope you have a wonderful retreat!

  • I scored 25 also. I grew up with an extremely extroverted mother, which wasn’t a lot of fun, and a very introverted brilliant workaholic HSP father, which was definitely easier. Surprising to me, since my ex was fairly extroverted, is that both my children are HSPs. The three of us, I tell you! Something else. However we are very close and spend most of our time together – though apart, in various rooms. They are in their late teens/early twenties and the extreme self consciousness of teens added to HSP has been and continues to be a challenge.

    The upcoming retreat looks wonderful. Who knows, finances may allow me to be there.

    Thanks for dropping by, it was great to hear from you, Peter.

    xo

  • Good information here. I need to get by here more often.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *